Search This Blog

Saturday, September 1, 2012

City Council Inquiry Regarding Entergy's Post-Disaster Response

Inquiry Regarding Entergy's Post-Disaster Response

Most New Orleanians breathed a sigh of relief that Hurricane Isaac was not a catastrophic event for our city, but our thoughts and prayers go out to those who suffered great damage. Because New Orleans was spared, our city began immediately struggling to return to normal so that businesses could open, schools could resume, and neighborhoods could recover.

Unfortunately, despite thorough preparation by federal, state, and local governments, our city's recovery has been stymied by energy outages throughout the city. New Orleanians understand that patience is required. But as Entergy's regulators, the Council must inquire as to whether the process of restoring electricity was sufficiently aggressive and visible as soon as the winds subsided. Therefore, the Committee of the Whole will convene, chaired by Utility Committee Chairperson Councilmember Cynthia Hedge-Morrell, on Tuesday, September 4, 2012, at 10:30 a.m.

New Orleans City Council
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Stacy Head; Council Vice-President and Councilmember-at-Large
Jacquelyn Brechtel Clarkson; District "A" Councilmember Susan Guidry; District "B" Councilmember Diana E. Bajoie; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Cynthia Hedge-Morrell; and District "E" Councilmember Ernest F. Charbonnet.

No comments: